Bowling

 

I try not to make bowl game predictions, mainly because if I put them out there, they are usually wrong. But then again, I can’t stay away.  Today is, you guessed it, UK’s bowl game appearance.  The Wildcats are playing against the significantly depleted FSU Seminoles.  There is a chance that Bobby Bowden will be making an appearance if need be.  Possibly as a defensive lineman.

Music City Bowl, UK vs. FSU:  I take UK on this.  I know this has the possibility of jinxing my team, but having the ability to take 32 guys who normally would not be going to Nashville is not a good thing in Florida State’s case this time.  I mean, they’re taking redshirts.  People who literally cannot play.  In any case, I still think it will be a good game, and UK will not win running away.

Roady’s Humanitarian, Georgia Tech vs. Fresno State: I just wanted to include this one because it has perhaps one of the best names.  Roady’s Humanitarian.  I don’t even think those words go together, yet it creates a perfect symbiosis in a bowl game name.  Anyway, I call this for Georgia Tech.

Chick-fil-A Bowl, Clemson vs. Auburn: Besides the fact that both are tigers, this match-up should be interesting.  I give it to Auburn though, because I don’t think the ACC has provided enough of a challenge for Clemson to be prepared for Auburn.  I mean, they played Duke. Come on.

Outback Bowl, Wisconsin vs. Tennessee: I like this bowl because I have a friend who used to work at Outback and now literally throws up in her mouth any time it’s mentioned.  It’s pretty classic.  Anyway, I hate to call it for another SEC team because that’s so cliche at this point, but  Wisconsin was fourth in the Big Ten rankings with a 5-3 record.  To be fair, their losses came to three good or ranked teams, and they beat a #12 Michigan, but the rest of their schedule didn’t seem that tough to me.  I will say, however, that this is one in which the SEC theory of toughness will be tested and I could be completely wrong.

Rose Bowl, USC vs. Illinois: This is one I will be missing, as I will be arriving in Canada when it starts (yes, some people go to warmer places during the winter. I go to places where my nonexistent balls will even be freezing off).  Illinois did beat a #1 Ohio State, so it gives one cause to stop and ponder if they could be USC.  I just don’t think it will happen and USC will come out on top, because then it will give the Rose Bowl organizers even more reason to perpetuate the bowl system in general.

I spent a lot of time on lesser bowls, so I’m just going to cut to the chase, in case my international activities preclude me from posting next week.

BCS Championship, LSU vs. Ohio State: I take LSU on this one.  I don’t think either team is really that great, or that this will be a great game.  I think both had their great games earlier this season, and while they played well after that, just never really got that good lovin’ feelin’ back.  That being said, Ohio State will once again disappoint their crazy fans and send them back to their shivering lives in Ohio.  But then again, I’m biased.

Quote of the week: This dude.

Leave a Reply

