Don’t Drop the Soap

Okay, so we all know not to drop the soap in prison. Even if the only view of prison we have ever seen is from the DARE program or some other school-related activity to try to get us not to use drugs. Still, Vick, I think you’re going to be one popular guy in prison (if you haven’t already figured that out since you been in there for a month), so don’t drop the soap.

A lot of conjecture has gone into whether or not Vick will return to the NFL. Aside from the fact that it is very difficult for normal felons to get jobs upon leaving prison, I think he has a leg up over the competition when it comes to job security. Still, this could be a difficult one to predict. Let me put it this way: yesterday, I went to kickboxing, which this semester has not been an abnormal thing. The problem with yesterday’s class though, was that last week I sat in a library, in front of my laptop for an average of 8 hours a day, without hitting the gym at all. While this might be typical of your average state of Kentucky worker (I’ve been there, done that), it did not make for a pretty sight at kickboxing yesterday. I was wheezing like my dog who is 11 years old and probably has a deviated septum.

In any case, can you imagine Vick sitting in prison for a year and then trying to go out on the field in a training camp. I realize that he might hit the gym a couple times during his stay, but at the same time, I don’t think he’s going to be doing a lot of passing and running with NFL caliber athletes. Believe it or not, pro athletes have to practice in order to keep their game on top.

I’ll be the first to say that I think Vick has been one of the most physically gifted quarterbacks in the League. But is that going to translate? He’s been playing football since he was a kid, every year, in and out. So, like my week of sedentary academia, will three seasons lost put Vick at a disadvantage? That is the question, more than will anyone take him back because of the tree-ring circus that will follow him…

Quote of the day: “Is it a sad commentary on the state of our team that I bought my parents tickets to watch the UK-San Diego game instead of the UK-UofL game, in the hopes that they would actually get to see a game?” – me, on the state of UK basketball

“Yes, yes it is. Accurate but sad.” – my fellow UK fan

Leave a Reply

